NZPF Northern Region Established 1939

The Waikato Philatelic Society was established to promote philately in the Waikato region. The society is a friendly group of keen stamp collectors and welcomes new members. We currently have about 100 members.


Meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays each month (except Christmas and January) at 7:30pm. Visitors are welcome.
Meeting Place: St Francis Church Hall, 92 Mansel Avenue, Hillcrest, Hamilton. Parking is available by the Hall (off Mansel Avenue) or in the Church car park (off the Hamilton-Morrinsville Road).
Besides the Programme, meetings usually include discussion on items of philatelic interest, philatelic queries and a sales table.

Calendar of Events

January 2018

Nov 21 – Members 'Unusual items in my collection (part 2)'
Dec 5 – Club Awards for 2018; Gordon Wood 'silent display'

Guide to Club Activities


The society’s popular newsletter is published and distributed to all members every 2 months. It contains items of philatelic interest as well as space for members to place small free advertisements.

Circuit Books

The society maintains an Exchange Circuit supervised by a Sales Superintendent. Its primary objective is to provide members with the means of buying or selling philatelic items with other members of the society from their own home.


The society maintains a small reference library of catalogues and books of philatelic interest which are available during meetings and may be borrowed by members.


A sales tables is operated at most meetings. Any member may put up items for sale and anyone present may buy any of the items being offered.

Literature Table

Latest auction catalogues and advertising material from stamp dealers and other clubs are set out on a table at all meetings. These may be perused or taken away on a first come, first served basis.

Club Competitions

The Club runs several philatelic competitions to encourage members to develop, research and upgrade the presentation of their collections.

Special Notices

Ambury Shield 2018

The Ambury Shield InterClub Competition between northern North Island clubs will be held in Hamilton on Saturday 27 October 2018 at the Fairfield Baptist Church Hall, 1101 Heaphy Terrace. Taranaki Philatelic Society is the host society.
Intending exhibitors the competition rules and competition classes can be found at Ambury Rules and the evaluation sheets for each class at Ambury Shield judge sheets.

Ambury Shield 2017

The Ambury Shield competition between North Island clubs was held in Hamilton on Saturday 28 October 2017 at the Fairfield Baptist Church Hall. The 2017 Ambury Shield was won by the Waikato Philatelic Society. Lindsay Chitty of Waikato won the Best in Show Cup. Bob Ellis of the Tauranga & Districts Stamp Club won the Novice Trophy.

Members’ Success in Philatelic Awards

Congratulations to our members who have recently received philatelic awards.

Alan Craig was awarded the NZ Philatelic Federation Award of Merit in 2017 for his services to philately.

Robert Livingston also gained the NZ Philatelic Federation Award of Merit in 2016.


Town (within Hamilton City boundary): $20.00 ($10.00 after June 1)
Country (outside Hamilton City boundary): $20.00 ($9.00 after June 1)
Junior (under 18 years): $12.00